Remote ESP8266-based Garage Door sensor

I’ve got a bunch of z-wave light switches and plugs in my house and I use OpenHab as my centralized home automation system. I have a detached garage and neighbors have experienced occasional break-ins in similar garages where people stole tools and what-no. In fact, a couple years ago, the padlock on the sliding lock  was broken (yes, sadly, I do not have a garage-door opener…really embarrassing for a home-automation guy..but I’ve got this really funky pivoting metal door that reminds me of an aircraft hanger or something. Anyway, suffice it to say, motor-driven opening would be challenging.) ON closer inspection, I realized it was because someone had been hammering on it…I guess one night while we were out of town or something, because hammering a lock on that metal door would be loud.

Now, one problem is, I’m pretty forgetful, so there have certainly been times when I forgot to lock it, or even forgot to close it. Since I already had z-wave going on, I figured I’d try a z-wave tilt-switch. I set of OpenHab so that when the garage door state changes, I get a text. It also reminds me after sundown if the door is still open. This kind of worked, but z-wave is not guaranteed delivery, and I think the distance to the garage from the nearest node, combined with the RF-blocking metal door, resulted in a pretty poor success rate reporting the ‘closed’ stated (the tilt sensor fires once, then sleeps).

So, I decided I could probably do better using an ESP8266 sensor I built myself.

My first attempt involved setting the ESP (01) leveraging the deep sleep option to wake up every 60 seconds, check the state of an input connected to to a mercury switch, and when the state has changed, connect to my WiFi network and send a message to my OpenHab server via MQTT. I should note that, since deep sleep loses the current run-state – it really just wakes up and starts init.lua from the beginnning) I used an Realtime Clock (RTC) storage register to store the “last known state”..that’s all documented here and there on the web. This work really well, but I only got about six weeks of battery life out of a 3.7V LiPo battery…really two short to be acceptable – I needed to figure out a better design.

I figure, an better approach is one where the sensor is actually powered off most of the time, then powers-on, connects to WiFi, and sends a message when the mercury tilt switch closes, then fires another message when the door closes. The problem is – if I just wire the power through the mercury tilt switch, when the door closes, power is lost and the ESP can’t send the “closed” message. I tried a big capacitor supplying some power for a bit after the tilt switch opens, but even a big-honkin’ one didn’t provide enough juice to run for more than a fraction of a second.

What I wound up doing was using the mercury switch to supply power when the door opens – so on power-up, it sends the “open” message, then I have a parallel power path which uses a P-channel MOSFET to supply power after the door closes. The gate of the MOSFET is connected to a GPIO pin, so the ESP actually powers itself off once it sends the “closed” message by setting the GPIO HIGH, thus turning off the MOSFET. Since the ESP-12 operates at 3.3V, you need a TTL level MOSFET. I used an NDP6020. Here is an example of a circuit which I kind of used as the basis for this secondary power path:relay-mosfet-p-channel-switch8

The at-rest current leakage on MOSFETs is supposed to be really low, so I think I’ll get really good battery life with this approach. I didn’t worry about the diode, and an ESP-12 is basically in place of the relay.

I did need one additional sensor, since I couldn’t think of a simple way to have the mercury switch act as both a power supply switch AND a GPI sensor. I had a couple 3-axis accelerometers around, so I used on of those, with one axis tied to the ADC pin on the ESP-12 through a voltage divider that bring the 1 to 3.3V output down to the 0 to 1V range the ESP ADC pin expects.

Here is a Fritzing and schematic of the prototype:

 

 

GarageFritzing

 

 

 

 

 

 

GarageSchematic

 

 

 

 

I’ll deploy it shortly and provide an update on the reliability and battery life in the near future.

This entry was posted in Technical. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remote ESP8266-based Garage Door sensor

  1. Pingback: Using ADC with the ESP8266 | Austinlightguy's Blog

Leave a Reply

