Building another (better) PiCam security camera

I blogged briefly about building a security camera back in a previous post. It worked so well I decided to build another, but with a few improvements based on past experience…

I used this WiFi adapter (from Aazon): TRENDnet Wireless N 150 Mbps Mini USB 2.0 Adapter, TEW-649UB.  It’s supported out-of-the box by th OS, PLUS, you can easily pop open the housing and their a standard (tiny) wifi antenna connector on the circuit board. This let by connect a full, external antenna I had from dismantling and old router or something.

I followed this original Instuctable up to step 6:
Instead of Motion, I use VLC to stream the video.
I created two scripts in my /home/pi directory…
start-vlc.sh:
#! /bin/sh
sudo raspivid -o – -t 0 -n -w 800 -h 480 -fps 6 | cvlc -vvv stream:///dev/stdin –sout ‘#rtp{sdp=rtsp://:8160/}’ :demux=h264 :h264-fps=6 2>&1 | tee /var/log/vlc.log &
 
restart-vlc.sh:
#! /bin/sh
echo “$(date) – stopping vlc” >> /var/log/vlcstart.log
sudo ps -ef | grep -e ‘vlc \-I’ | grep -v grep | awk ‘{print $2}’ | xargs -i kill {} 2&>/dev/null || echo “vlc-streamer already stopped”
sleep 3
sudo raspivid -o – -t 0 -n -w 800 -h 480 -fps 6| cvlc -vvv stream:///dev/stdin –sout ‘#rtp{sdp=rtsp://:8160/}’ :demux=h264 :h264-fps=6 > /var/log/vlc.log 2>&1 &
 
I changed the run permissions on both files:
chmod 755 start-vlc.sh
chmod 755 restart-vlc.sh
Both scripts start the VLC streamer streaming H.264 800×400 video over RTSP at about 6 frames per second. That can all be changed, for example, you could use a different encoding..there are many examples for using different options on the internets. RTDP is fast, but be aware that one downside is that it is over UDP only, so doesn’t work if you want to stream outside your firewall.  I found I can easily go faster on the frames per second – just make sure to change both the “-fps n” and “:h264-fps=n” parameters to match. When I tried larger frame sizes though (liek 1024×768), I kept seeing it start to rebuffer. It would continue to do that, each time takin glonger and longer until it became unworkable…not sure exactly what was going on there, but 800×480 doesn’t do it, so I went with that.
I created a script in named vlc-streamer in /etc/init.d for starting and stopping the streamer as a service:
#! /bin/sh
# /etc/init.d/vlc-streamer
 
# Carry out specific functions when asked to by the system
case “$1” in
  start)
    echo “Starting vlc”
    # run application you want to start
    echo “$(date) – starting vlc” >> /var/log/vlcstart.log
    sudo -u pi /home/pi/start-vlc.sh &> /var/log/vlc.log
    ;;
  stop)
    echo “Stopping vlc”
    # kill application you want to stop
    echo “$(date) – stopping vlc” >> /var/log/vlcstart.log
    sudo ps -ef | grep -e ‘vlc \-I’ | grep -v grep | awk ‘{print $2}’ | xargs kill -9
    ;;
 
  restart)
    echo “Stopping vlc”
    echo “$(date) – stopping vlc” >> /var/log/vlcstart.log
    sudo ps -ef | grep -e ‘vlc \-I’ | grep -v grep | awk ‘{print $2}’ | xargs -i kill {} 2&>/dev/null || echo “vlc-streamer already stopped”
sleep 3
    echo “Starting vlc”
    echo “$(date) – starting vlc” >> /var/log/vlcstart.log
    sudo -u pi /home/pi/start-vlc.sh &> /var/log/vlc.log
    ;;
  *)
    echo “Usage: /etc/init.d/vlc {start|stop}”
    exit 1
    ;;
esac
exit 0

And finally, I added the startup to /etc/rc.local so that the service will start up automatically when the system starts:

# Start camera streaming
service vlc-streamer start
I set up the camera in iSpy using a custom profile. Configure it as an FFMPEG (H264) camera with an rtsp:// url pointing to your camera’s IP address and using the UDP protocol:
Image
Another deviation from the article – On my second camera, I wanted a real, durable, weatherproof enclosure – not the fake plastic kind of thing they use in the article. I used this Evertech B00LU2NPVS enclosure, again from Amazon which, for for $45 bucks, gave me a full IP66 weatherproof enclosure, plus built-in IR leds and a fan. I just glued the camera to the rubber diaphragm and the circuit board to the included mounting plate with some silicone caulk.
Note that this housing is actually QUITE large compared to the crummy little consumer WiFi camera enclosures. In fact, it was really kind of unnecessarily big for the PiCam – almost 18″ long. I ended up cutting about 4 or 5 inches off the tail end with a hacksaw, which actually worked pretty well. Because of that, I had to drill a new access hole in the bottom for the power cord. I also drilled a small hole in the back to mount the WiFi antenna connector I had scavenged.

A note about power: The IR led array and fan take 12v. The housing comes with a convenient DC “bullet” plug that connects to the IR assembly, and there is another pair of wires that come off the IR assembly to supply your camera, but they supply the same 12V. I connected these to a buck an adjustable buck regulator – a really convenient and efficient regulator that costs about 5 bucks on Amazon and can take a variety of input voltage and output whatever you adjust it to…in my case 5V. I then fed the 5V in to the USB power connector on the Pi by cutting up a USB cable and splicing it in.

 

02/16/2016 Update:

To improve stability a bit more, I tweaked the restart scripts (already reflected in the code, above). I also changed the output redirection, so it doesn’t spit stuff out to the console and redirects it to vlc.log properly.

Next, I created a script to check that the WiFi is connected, and force an attempt to reconnect if not. Then I set that up to run every five minutes via cron.

check-wifi.sh:
#! /bin/sh
count=$(ping -c 4 192.168.2.1 | grep ‘received’ | awk -F’,’ ‘{ print $2 }’ | awk ‘{ print $1 }’)
if [ $count -eq 0 ]; then
# 100% failed
echo “Restarting wifi”
sudo /sbin/ifdown wlan0
sleep 10
sudo /sbin/ifup –force wlan0
else
echo “Wifi looks good!”
fi
 
/etc/crontab:
#! /bin/sh
# Monitor remote host every 30 minutes using monitorHost
5 * * * * root /home/pi/check-wifi.sh

 

Finally, created a monitor in iSpy, so that if the connection is lost and reconnect failes, iSpy will launch a script to automatically try to restart the service.

First, I set up my pc so you can ssh to the PiCam without entering a password. After installing cygwin and making sure the cygwin\bin directory is in my default system PATH, I set up an encrypted keypair using this example on StackOverflow: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16928004/how-to-enter-ssh-password-using-bash

Then I created a batch file to call the service restart command remotely and registerrd it as the “Reconnect Failed” Action in iSpy:

restartPiCam2CLV.bat:
rem try 5 times
set /A count = 5 
:DoWhile
 if %count% == 0 goto EndDoWhile
  set /A count = %count% -1
  ssh pi@192.168.x.yyy sudo service vlc-streamer restart
  if %errorlevel% == 0 goto EndDoWhile
  if %count% GTR 0 goto DoWhile
:EndDoWhile
exit \B
Image1

Failed connection Action

If the connection goes away and the automatic reconnect fails, iSpy will invoke the script.
This entry was posted in Technical, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

