ESP8266 Update

OK, since my first post on the ESP8266 and some replies I posted there as I made progress getting it to work, I’ve now had a chance to play with it a bit more.

One thing about the inexpensive ‘bare-bones’ variants – the advice everyone gives about NOT powering them from your serial adapter is definitely valid. I got significantly more flakiness with them, especially when trying to flash. Sometime it would take several tries to flash correctly. At times, the power draw even seems to have messed up USB hub, causing my mouse to go dead, for instance. The flashing flakiness applies both to flashing the full firmware and to simply trying to flash .LUA files to them.

So far, I’ve done almost all my experimenting using LUA and ESPlorer. This is mainly due to the convenience and to eliminate potential weirdness the Arduino build for ESP8266 might introduce. I’m not saying there is any – I just want to have a controlled comparison before digging deeper.

I do think there could be some issues trying to use certain Arduino libraries with the ESP, though. NodeMCU appears to be essentially a single-threaded, event-driven language, like Node.js. Since some Arduino libraries likely rely on interrupts for timing (SoftwareSerial, for example), you could end up messing up timing within the core firmware that controls the WiFi stack. So far, I have no evidence of this, it is mainly conjecture.

My little test project is to read the temperature from a TMP102 sensor from Sparkfun (my version has been retired, but the new one is essentially the same) and publish it to my OpenHAB server via MQTT over WiFi. The TMP102 uses an I2C connection with some specific addressing. Fortunately, both MQTT and I2C libraries are compiled into the latest NodeMCU firmware – I really just had to write a little MQTT code and pilfer some I2C communication code from Christee@nodemcu.com, which I found in the BMP085 module under the LUA firmware project: https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-firmware, and wire the SDA and SCL pins to GPIO14 and 12, respectively. My complete set of code is here: https://github.com/acoulson2000/ESP8266-TMP102. One more thing – apparently LUA is integer-based (lame) and this messed up my conversions to Centigrade. I had to download and flash a floating-point-capable firmware image (nodemcu_float_0.9.6-dev_20150406.bin) from https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-firmware/releases.

In any case, I mentioned in my last previous post on ESP8266 boards that both bare-bones boards I got have on-board 3.3V regulators. While this is true, they appear to be too wimpy to prove reliable when flashing or adding peripherals. Out-of-the box, I experienced a lot of flashing flakiness with the ESP-07 and ESP-12 cheapo boards, and little to none with the ESPToy. Using an external 3.3V source improved things immensely, though. At first, I just tapped the 3.3V source off an Arduino Uno connected to a USB port for power, and piped this stright to the 3.3V pin on the ESP-07 daughterboard – the little hole was just the right size to except a jumper pin 🙂  This made the device MUCH more stable.

Having had success with that, I decided to see about upgrading the chip to something that could provide more current. The seller himself indicated that it was not wise rely on the LDO (Low Drop-out regulator – similar to this one) on the ESP-07 and that its presence was actually a mistake (I think he just sources the things bulk from China, but he knows something about what he’s reselling). He recommended an LM1117MP-3.3 (linked here from DigiKey), so I ordered a couple, intending to swap out the chip. They’re both surface-mount, so this requires some soldering skills, but I was up for it. Unfortunately, I did not look compare the specs of both carefully. While they are both surface-mount chips, the 7333 is a SOT-223-3 which has smaller pins than the LM1117-33, which is a SOT-223-4. It has wider pin spacing AND the pins are not in the same order.

LM1117-22 Grafted onto ESP-07

LM1117-22 Grafted onto ESP07

So, I removed the original chip, the soldered the new one one, but spun around and with a jumper on the ground pin to connect to the original ground pad. I also put a little tape underneath it to prevent inadvertent contact with any of the boards though-hole exposed metal.

CaptureMan, after that, that thing works beautifully! I haven’t had a flash problem yet. I flashed two different firmwares and I even went into the ESPlorer Settings tab and cranked it up to Turbo mode. It still flashed program files flawlessley.

That was a lot of trouble to go to, when the ESPToy works right out of the box, but I think it proves out that an ESP-07 combined with some minimal components for a total price of about $5 is totally viable.

Here are shots of pretty much exactly the same sensor, the left one using the ESPToy powered and communicating to the PC directly over a USB cable, the right one connected to the PC via a USB-UART serial adapter. The Arduino is there purely as an easy way to get a 5V power supply while prototyping – I’ll switch to an AC adapter for the real deployment.

ESPToy with TMP102 Sensor

ESPToy with TMP102 Sensor

ESP-07 with Minimal Motherboard and TMP102 Sensor

ESP-07 with Minimal Motherboard and TMP102 Sensor

Next up…more esperimenting with the Arduino port for ESP8266!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

