Halloween 2010

Well, we’re out of the aughts and it’s almost holiday season, 2010!

To celebrate, I’ve decided to go ahead and do a light-oriented costume (actually, two – Cherie wants one too now) for Halloween this year.  My friend Sean got me thinking about doing more with Electro-luminescent (EL) wire.  ALG groupies might recall I’ve had AustinLightGuy.com spelled out in it on my Christmas light suit in years past.

Tomato cages being broken down and re-assembled

So, I bought a hundred feet of 5mm, orange ELwire, a few feet of yellow, a couple of inverters to drive it all, and a bunch of tomato cages.  Here is the work-in-progress.

I guess it’s basically a kind of a “Great Pumkin” theme.  A huge, glowing pumkin.

Almost finished with the structure

The tomato cages are turning out to be just the right rigidity to support themselves and the EL wire, I think. Maybe a tad to heavy-gauge.. I plan on getting the smaller ones for Cherie’s.

One problem: it’s currently to wide to go through a standard, interior door.  I’m going to try to elongate the cage slightly and reduce the width, but I may be stuck with mostly outdoor activities. Hopefully, I’ll get invited to some (hint, hint).

ELwire and AustinLightCat II

Happy Halloween 2010!

This entry was posted in Halloween. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Halloween 2010

  1. Michael says:

    Yo dude! Can’t wait to see the lights.

  2. What I did for mine, actually all my cucurbit costumes, is to use a heavier gauge so that the longitudinal scrobiculate striata might be mesially articulated using double-spring-loaded strap hinges to oblate the shell for doorway and vehicular egress.

    I call mine jack-o-lantern because I used jack lights.

    Best regards,
    Obadiah Lantern

  3. Pingback: Kicking It Up a Notch for XMas 2010 | Austinlightguy's Blog

Leave a Reply

